Ticket Office    Club Shop    Live    Facebook    Twitter
  Home    Club Information    News Centre    Fixtures    Results    Team    Reports    Gallery    Blogs    Statistics    Contact
Season Just Ahead
Tuesday 13th March 2012, 17:20 UK
by Lawrence Heppell
Newcastle Diamonds took to the Brough Park track yesterday in the last training session for the forthcoming 2012 speedway season.
New Diamonds' skipper, Mark Lemon and Sunderland-born Stuart Robson led the way, advising the younger elements of the new 2012 side, looking sharp on the shale.

The Worrall Twins, Richie, back from 2011 and Steve, new for 2012 put in some good effective laps as did Dane Claes Nedermark and returnee Australian and former Diamonds Captain, Christian Henry, but of all the new-boys, Swede Ludvig Lindgren seemed to be adapting quickest to Brough Park's tight turns and raised several eyebrows.

With the first match for Newcaslte coming up on Thursday night at the Redcar Bears in the first leg of a challenge match team manager George English was well satisfied with what he'd seen, saying: "All the signs are good and we're delighted with the way the side has gelled together with the team spirit already looking top-drawer.

"We have the perfect mix of top quality experience coupled with a truck-load of youthful exuberance and if we can stay away from the bizarre run of foul luck that struck us so bad last year with so many injuries then we have the ingredients for a successful year and it all starts on Thursday with the return with Redcar on Sunday at the later start time of 7.00pm, after which we'd like to think we'll have the first two victories under our belts."
Last Updated :  Tue 13 Mar 2012, 17:21 UK
The text content of this and other news articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as "www.newcastlediamonds.co"

Want to advertise here?

Newcastle Speedway  •  Newcastle Stadium  •  Fossway  •  Byker  •  Newcastle upon Tyne  •  NE6 2XJ

T  (0191) 265 6581  •  F  (0191) 265 1973  •  E  online@newcastlediamonds.co

Site Design  BeeCre8ive Media  •  Photography  Steve Brock  •  © Copyright Newcastle Speedway 2013  •  All Rights Reserved